For one of the events today, the seminar organizers requested that we wear attire “more formal than a T-shirt.”

This is a problem: I’m a mathematician; all my shirts are T-shirts. (Not quite true: I do have one shirt with buttons here.)

There’s a solution: I’m a Mathcamper; I have sarongs. Accordingly, my “attire more formal than a T-shirt” looked something like this, although with the yellow moved up to my shoulders to cover my short sleeves.

Before that, there was a welcome event at the Berlin city hall. There was a formal invitation from Guido Westerwelle, whom I’d heard of (as the first openly gay vice-president-equivalent in the world). but the welcome was actually from one of his subordinates, a young rising star politician who gave his talk in English (with occasional assistance from a translator), apparently the first time in decades that welcome talk’d been given in English at the Berlin seminar.

In between, I went to two German board game shops. The most popular modern board games are all designed in Germany, and the games of that genre are even called “German board games” even when designed by others (or “Euro games”). I bought those two board game shops and one I visited the following day out of an out of print game whose name I won’t mention in case anyone I got it as a gift for (none of the copies are for me) is reading this.

