Today after Babilon I and four other students from my class visited an English class as guest native speakers. They speak much better English than we do Hungarian, of course.

Going around the table, each native speaker was asked a question in English. Mine was “What’s your favorite Hungarian food?” Embarrassingly, my first response, hummus, wasn’t really Hungarian, and the next thing I thought of, falafel, wasn’t either (although I knew not to say it). So, I spent about half a minute thinking (while the class waited) of native Hungarian foods: it turns out that most of them are either nonvegetarian or would probably insult them with faint praise (“Your favorite Hungarian food is Hungarian bread?). Finally, the teacher suggested something, which I immediately accepted. (Unfortunately, I was too relieved to have successfully navigated the social situation to remember the suggestion, a la http://xkcd.com/302/.)

